Wicks Silver Labs Reviews

Show reviews that mention
health warranty fur loss dog silver lab wickliffe loss dogs people breeder issues
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Wicks Silver Labs - Avoid Wick's Silver Labs PLEASE!!
Wicks Silver Labs - Avoid Wick's Silver Labs PLEASE!!
Wicks Silver Labs - Avoid Wick's Silver Labs PLEASE!!
Update by user Jan 29, 2012

Approximately one year ago I paid a hefty price for a silver lab puppy from Patrick Wickliffe in Springfield,OH. Recently, my lab developed significant hair loss accompanied by lesions and sores. After several painful skin scrapes and two biopsies it was determined...

View full review
View full review
98 comments
#1664006

You people should have done your research before deciding on any of the diluted colored Labs, they all carry the DD gene,and that is what causes the alopecia, not to say all Diluted colors will come down with it, but they are more prone to it. Silvers, Charcoals, Champagnes are all considered Diluted colors and carry the gene that causes this.

View more comments
ID
#292918 Review #292918 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Owasso, Oklahoma
New Reviewer
I got my dog from Wick's Silver Labs 6 years ago. I am very sad to hear about the passing of Pat & the decline in the quality of the breeding. My dog has the best temperament of any dog I have come in contact with & is the light of my life. She sometimes has issues...
View full review
View full review
ID
#940808 Review #940808 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Haven, Connecticut
Pros
  • Pat wickliffe
Reason of review
Good customer service

Buyer beware, do your homework

When buying any breed of dog it is important to research what the breed is all about, Colors, ( there are no silver labs, they are a mix of Wheim at some point to create the gray color, there are no charcoal, or any other dilute color Lab) Black, Yellow with its many shades, and chocolate. Silvers are registered under chocolate because there is no such thing as silver and the AKC can't see the color of the dog. I am glad your dog has grown a real black coat and think it will kept that just fine. I am sorry you were led to believe things that aren't true and really you were taken, suckered in. Inverted vulvas are common in little girl puppies and will fix themselves as they mature, no surgery needed. The only girls that might get UTI's are little dogs that live close to the ground and rub on grass. Best of luck with your girl and do your homework next time, read breed standards, all breeds have one
View full review
1 comment
#980247

.... You seem like a very angry depressed person... I hope you have a good day and find happiness

ID
#542251 Review #542251 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Germantown, Maryland
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
stop cheating people with bad information, become ethical or quit breeding dogs
New Reviewer
I have a silver lab from ladys labs from hillsboro ohio area. the male was ballet from wicks silver lab. My lab has had problem with hair loss but she is always chewing on the area. Does anyone elses labs chew and scratch the area that they have lost there hair. my vet...
View full review
View full review
ID
#462707 Review #462707 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Wicks Silver Labs Continues to Pump out Puppies

Even though Pat Wickliffe has passed away his kennel continues to pump out puppies. For a business that advertises "1-2 litters a year" on its Better Business site there has been 7 litters produced in 2012 and Wicks Silver Labs is now taking deposits for future litters. Taking deposits on puppies site unseen. There is no information or pictures of the parents on these prospective pups either. Buyer beware ! Don't buy anything, especially a puppy online. We bought our puppy from a picture posted on that site. We had to have her put down at 13 months old due to escalating aggression towards our family and other pets in our home. We consulted our vet to rule out a possible medical condition causing the aggression. There were no medical issues that could explain her behavior. We also consulted a behavioral therapist who advised us that her aggression was related to her breeding, or lack of quality breeding and that in all likelihood she would not respond to behavioral therapy. We were told just like there are people who are mentally unbalanced, there are also animals that are mentally unbalanced. Breeding puppies should be taken very seriously and great thought and effort should be exercised in this endeavor. When quantity is the goal, quality will go out the window. Our puppy also had color dilution alopecia (CDA) and had lost most of her fur. Wicks Silver Lab did not include CDA as an excluded genetic condition at the time we bought our puppy. It was only after we attempted to hold Mr. Wickliffe to his health warranty that he added it as an exclusion. Mr. Wickliffe never did honor our contract under the replacement clause. We lost our money, we lost our puppy and no one at Wicks Silver Labs has made any effort or shown any compassion for our situation. DON'T BUY A PUPPY FROM WICKS SILVER LABS. YOU MAY LIVE TO REGRET IT LIKE WE HAVE. The aforementioned is the sole opinion and/or experience of the writer. Any prospective buyer should thoroughly research any breeder that they may be considering purchasing a puppy from and come to their own conclusions/decision as whether to purchase from a breeder. There are many puppies and dogs waiting in local shelters for loving homes. Consider adoption. We wish we had.
View full review
1 comment
#1125666

Is this the breeder in Ohio?

ID
#371573 Review #371573 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Boston, Michigan
Loss
$1000
New Reviewer
My silver lab was purchased from Pat Wickliffe as well and we have had a ton of issues with his immune system. Pat said he was not getting the proper amount of milk from his mother so we took him at 6 weeks to get him help and get him out of there. So far he does not...
View full review
View full review
12 comments
#945758

Does anyone have a good number for Pat?

View more comments
ID
#354463 Review #354463 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
New Reviewer
I have posted a prior complaint as Avoid Wicks Silver Labs Please. I wanted to post another picture of my silver lab's most recent hair loss due to the genetic condition bred within Wick's Silver Labs and could not add another photo to the intial complaint....
View full review
View full review
9 comments
#742271

It is very common for any female dog to loose a significant amount of her coat after whelping a litter. This is due to the demands of pregnancy, whelping and lactating on her body.

Her coat will usually return to a normal state as her body returns to it's non-pregnancy state.

This hair loss should not be a permanent condition.

View more comments
ID
#319210 Review #319210 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
New Reviewer

Promised a "replacement" puppy in January, still waiting!

We bought a puppy from Wicks Silver Labs in December 2011. Our puppy began losing her fur after being home for only 5 days. She was diagnosed with a genetic disorder, color dilution alopecia, in January 2012. Our puppy's genetic disorder is covered under the health warranty we were given in December 2011. Mr Wickliffe has since precluded "alpache" (alopecia) as a covered condition. Mr. Wickliffe, owner of Wicks Silver Labs, agreed to replace our puppy in January. He stated that he didn't know when he would be having another litter arriving and would have to let us know. Shortly thereafter, Mr. Wickliffe told us we "voided" our warranty. Mr. Wickliffe has yet to give us an explanation as to how we allegedly "voided" our warranty. We have made multiple request to Mr. Wickliffe for an explanation regarding the warranty. In March Mr. Wickliffe informed us via email that he would have no further communication with us on the advice of his "attorney". He stated we would be hearing from his attorney "soon" We have yet to hear from his "attorney" or Mr. Wickliffe! Now Mr. Wickliffe has two litters available from which to provide us with a "replacement" puppy from. Mr. Wickliffe had a litter arrive March 24 and April 3. He professes to only have "1-2" litters a year, just an occasional breeder. He also had a litter advertised on his website born Feb 22. In our opinion, Mr. Wickliffe knew full well when he would be having future litters available when he promised us a new puppy but couldn't tell us when one would be available. In our opinion, Mr. Wickliffe sells puppies with a health warranty that he has no intentions of honoring if need be. He is not concerned about the quality of the puppies he sells or the people who unwittingly buy from him. He is ONLY concerned about making his money, a $1000 per pup with an additional $250 for breeding rights. In our opinion Wicks Silver Labs is a Puppy Mill. Unfortunately, Ohio does not have very effective legislation regarding dog breeding or breeders. In our opinion, we were SCAMMED.
View full review
19 comments
#742281

I "purchased" a puppy. I did not "adopt" a puppy. When you purchase any goods or services, there are implied expectations. When a warranty is offered with your purchase, it is meant to signify that the merchant or service provider is agreeing to provide you with what you thought you where purchasing or hired them to do.

I do not call my dogs my "babies" or look at them like my "children". The love I have for my children can not be compared to my dogs. My dogs and cats are well cared for on a daily basis. They receive regular veterinary care and care for health issues that come up. I make my own dog food with the same quality ingredients that I use for my family. They are vaccinated, given flea and heartworm preventatives, have been taken to specialists when needed, have microchips, toys galore, and sleep on the couches. We have our home professionally treated every three months to prevent flea infestation. This care all comes at a considerable expense. We give our pets the very best care and they enjoy a loving place in our home. One of our dogs is a stray that we found in a thunderstorm. After two failed months of trying to find her owner, she has become a member of our pack. She has severe hip dysplasia and will need hip surgery in the future. She is currently on two pain meds with good results.

I have no problem having to deal with or spend unknown amounts of money on a dog (stray or adopted) that came with no warranty or known health history. But if I purchase a dog, I want what I was promised, nothing more, nothing less. A stray or adopted dog is a game of chance. A dog that you purchase has a known genetic background. It should be healthy and have a good temperament.

#730536

Yes, this is a very terrible thing to be happening, it seems like he's constantly breeding his dogs. But you shouldn't be asking for your money back just because your dog isn't perfect.

They are there for you to love them for whatever they turn out to be. You should have really researched them before you bought them; because it's not just the Wicks breeding place that has dogs that are losing their hair or other serious infections, dry skin, poor immune system, almost all silver labs have this. I have two silver labs and each of them have had one litter of puppies. Our first had a litter of silver, our second was bred with a chocolate so they're only silver factored (hopefully no serious problems with this set) our new puppy from this litter she is only a few months and she has a beautiful soft coat, as her mother's fell out, but is slowly coming back in.

I really love my dogs and wouldn't leave them, or ask for my money back. I can't just fail my babies like that; I can't leave my dog that is either in pain, or suffering from an illness just because she wasn't what I thought she would be, or that she's not worth the money. Because she is worth so much more than a thousand dollars to me. I would never leave my girls behind even if my life depended on it.

If you don't want your dog then maybe you shouldn't have gotten one, or maybe you should have researched them a little bit more; because almost all silver labs have a skin, or coat defect. This problem is not the dogs fault, they were not supposed to be this color; that's why they're so rare. So either don't get dogs anymore, or tough it out and love them. Even though it's hard to see them in pain, you give them the best life they deserve and treat them as best as you can.

They deserve a good life.

And I bet you are all adults on here complaining, well this is a sixteen year old girl that has to see her eight and four year old everyday without their hair. So just stop complaining and start loving them!

#636590

We didn't buy our Jade from Wicks but another breeder in Kansas. She is almost 3 now.

Sadly this Silver also has Color Dilution Alopecia. We had our vet do a punch biopsy when we got her spade ( we knew we couldn't breed her for whatever was wrong with her coat). Report came back from Penn State to confirm the CDA. She has no fur on her one side about 5 inches across and the same on the other about 4 inches.

She has dry skin and is prone to skin infections. My husband doesn't hunt with her too much expense treating skin infections. She wears a coat in the winter. We did get our money back no problem.

We sent a formal letter and accompanied it with a copy of the lab report. I do think this is a problem in dogs with the color dilute gene. Fawn and blue dobermans as well as others are prone.

I've checked this breeders website and I don't see Jades Mother in his breeding program so he may have had others as well affected.

#640324
@PissedConsumer636590

Wicks Silver Labs does not use dogs from other "breeders" in there "breeding program". They have 6 females to 1 male.

And they breed the *** out of those poor females. They are no more than another Puppy mill operation. They know that there dogs carry the CDA gene, that gets passed on to their puppies, and they keep pumping out litters every time one of their females goes into heat. Sadly I thought after Mr.

Wickliffe passed away, that this puppymill would be out of business. Mr. Wickliffe's life partner, Dustin is continuing to run this scamming puppy mill. If you want a bald, partially bald and/or a dog with skin lesions, this is the puppy mill for you.

Anyone who is looking for a well bred, strong, healthy dog, don't buy a silver lab and definitely don't by a dog from Wicks Silver Labs. :(

#520521

Thanks for your input. We agree that "silver labs" should not be bred and would not recommend anyone to purchase one.

You are correct, we do not want a replacement puppy from Wicks Silver Labs.

Whenever we are out in public with her, people ask us what kind of dog she is. This gives us a great opportunity to educate people about the health issues and reasons they should not buy a silver lab.

#636595
@PissedConsumer520521

We also take the opportunity to tell anyone that will listen about Jade and her Coat condition. Our kennel we use when we vacation knows about it and have also let others know about the risk of these diluted colors from a variety of breeds.

All we can do is pass,the word. Always document everything and never get a replacement puppy. Money back only. Spread the word as much as you can!

If you keep one person from not choosing a silver lab at a much higher cost, I might add.

Then your making progress.

#518010

Unfortunately, Our opinion is that silver labs should not be bred at all for their color. They are wonderful dogs, but their recessive, color-dilute gene leaves them susceptible an breeders know th owners will be attached to their pet before symptoms begin to show (usually 6 months to a year).

You do not want a replacement from this breeder!!! If you need a treatment resource or your pup, you can go to Color Dilution Alopecia page on Facebook.

#517730

Really, FYI to any prospective buyers. A "rare silver lab" is really a dilute chocolate.

A recessive gene causes their haircoat to be a silvery brown.

Color dilution alopecia is very common in this color labrador. Do yourself a favor, spend less money on a better bred lab of a "normal color".

#491685

There is now a 3rd person who has posted that they have a silver lab from Mr. Wickliffe and it has alopecia as well.

I am wondering how many more people who bought puppies from Mr.

Wickliffe have dogs with alopecia.? The 3rd owner's comment is posted under " Wicks Silver Labs sold me a genetically defective dog" (posted by "Dana".

#477349

In our health warranty /contract, alopecia was not even mentioned as an excluded condition. Mr.

Wickliffe added the alopecia exclusion after we and another buyer informed him that our dogs had this genetic condition.

How very convenient. Would not recommended this breeder.

View more comments (18)
ID
#312444 Review #312444 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saginaw, Michigan
New Reviewer

My 5 month old puppy is losing her fur AGAIN!

Update by user Mar 30, 2012

Pictures were submitted with this complaint. Evidently they did not make it to this site. ???

Original review posted by user Mar 30, 2012
Please read my complaint entitled: Wicks Silver Labs sold me a genetically defective dog. As previously stated my puppy has a genetic disorder Color Dilution Alopecia (CDA). This disorder has been diagnosed by genetic testing via skin biopsies at Michigan State University Veterinary Clinic in January of this year. We where told in January, by Dr. Peterson (dermatologist) that Willow would regrow the fur she had lost, however if Willow lost her fur again, her fur loss would be permanent. Willow has started losing her fur for the second time (this will be permanent). She is losing fur on the backs of her hind legs, abdomen/sides, under her front legs, her rear end, base of her tail and has small patchy areas in various places. My husband and I have attempted to hold the breeder, Mr. Wickliffe of Wicks Silver Labs, to the health warranty contract which states that if a genetic defect is diagnosed within one year of purchase, a replacement puppy would be provided. We have made several unsuccessful attempts to resolve this with Mr. Wickliffe. Mr. Wickliffe promised us, in January, a replacement puppy, but has not done so nor has he told us when another litter will be available. Mr. Wickliffe then told us we "voided" our warranty, however he has yet to give us an explanation as to how we specifically "voided" our warranty. We sent Mr. Wickliffe an email approximately 2 weeks ago requesting an explanation about the "voided" warranty" and received a response from him that he had sent all "saved documentation to his attorney" and that we would be hearing from his attorney "very soon". Mr. Wickliffe further stated that he was advised by his attorney not to have further contact with us. We have not received any communication from an attorney representing Mr. Wickliffe. Mr. Wickliffe has breached the health warranty contract. We believe that he has no intention, nor has he ever had any intention of honoring the health warranty that he advertises on his website. This is deceptive advertising. Mr. Wickliffe shows lack of regard for the puppies he breeds and the unsuspecting customers he sells to. All we wanted was a healthy puppy. What we got is a puppy that will be bald or partially bald when all is said and done. Mr. Wickliffe of Wicks Silver Labs has no intentions of making this situation right. The aforementioned is the exclusive opinion of this writer.
View full review
11 comments
#1107839

There is actually a cure to your dogs condition. My mini foxie has the same 'color dilution alopecia' and he lost all his blue coat.

Now.

He has it back! Home remedies

#887148

Get the dog some steriods and move on..there is no such thing as a "sliver lab" and if you wanted such a "rare" dog common sense tells you to get these "rare" dogs breeding wise there will be some gentic issues because these dogs are not supposed to have this coloring.

#491688

There is now a 3rd person who has posted that they have a silver lab from Mr. Wickliffe and it has alopecia as well.

I am wondering how many more people who bought puppies from Mr.

Wickliffe have dogs with alopecia.? The 3rd owner's comment is posted under " Wicks Silver Labs sold me a genetically defective dog" (posted by "Dana".

#469562

I understand your frustration with this breeder, but, as I have posted on another of your blogs... sometimes it its better to just cut ties and be done with it.

Do you Really want another dog from this breeder. My suggestion would be to ask for some monetary compensation and leave it at that. I don't know what your plans were for your pet, but if breeding was one of them... I certainly would not consider breeding any dog from this person.

Most likely, many of his dogs carry this genetic disorder and would likely be passed on through any puppies.

If I were you, I would try to get some sort of compensation from the breeder and just enjoy the dog that you have.

#469561

I understand your frustration with this breeder, but, as I have posted on another of your blogs... sometimes it its better to just cut ties and be done with it.

Do you Really want another dog from this breeder. My suggestion would be to ask for some monetary compensation and leave it at that. I don't know what your plans were for your pet, but if breeding was one of them... I certainly would not consider breeding any dog from this person.

Most likely, many of his dogs carry this genetic disorder and would likely be passed on through any puppies.

If I were you, I would try to get some sort of compensation from the breeder and just enjoy the dog that you have.

#463884

you are ignorant lady!

#460642

Actually, let me educate you a bit. I know perfectly well what a hair coat is and its function. It certainly serves a function, but by no means is going to cause a dog to have a miserable life in its absence. Some dogs are bred to be "hairless." In addition, we've covered not only this particular genetic disorder in lecture, but I've seen it in clinic rotations as well. This disorder generally causes only mild discomfort, with itching due to dry skin being the primary concern. Other concerns are sunburns and bacterial infections, but with proper care these symptoms can be managed. I'm sorry your dog (a LIFE, by the way) didn't live up to your "expectations." Despite YOUR intentions of USING her to retrieve for duck hunts, she is still capable of leading a happy life. I'm sure she doesn't mind that she can't participate in duck hunts. Dogs are like children, you can raise and train them to perform according to YOUR expectations, but in the end, they may or may not meet your expectations. Even a perfectly healthy dog that is trained from an early age may not "perform" according to expectations. That's sort of the gamble you make when adopting a puppy.

It's my opinion that pets should be treated as companion animals, not as investments (with the exception of service animals). It's perfectly fine for dogs to retrieve ducks and do other recreational activities. It provides them with stimulation and exercise. However, as I've already stated, there is never any guarantee that a dog will live up to your expectations. Sometimes adjustments need to be made in life, without requesting a "replacement puppy." Even if you never said you would send the original back, obviously that is what several other readers implied based on what you had written. The word "replace" is defined as "to substitute, to take the place of." Obviously, that implies one puppy taking the place of another. I suggest being more clear in your diction next time.

With that being said, I believe the breeder is just as misguided and wrong. His behavior demonstrates a lack of ethics and acceptable level of customer service, in addition to likely breaching his own contract.

And Sterler, I've been in the real world. I was a vet tech for years before going to vet school. i'm in my 4th year on rotations. Obviously, I've been very successful in dealing with clientele. Ignorant, misguided owners come in all the time. It's my job to educate them so they can provide the best possible life for their pets. If you, Sterler, are going to pretend that an internet website is the same kind of forum as a hospital, you are grossly mistaken. Obviously, they are two different arenas. Here, I can address misguided owners openly and honestly, which isn't possible in a university run hospital. For your info, my reviews have indicated excellent bedside manner and client-doctor relationship.

And YES, there are partial refunds. A lot of the breeders I work with will a) cover vet bills and/or b) refund part of the purchase price if the owner elects to keep a dog with a chronic condition.

Thanks for the wishes of good luck, though. I already have a job lined up after I graduate this June!

#460062

To ASH...

You Sound like a naive veterinary student. When you get into the real world and actually have to deal with real life situations let me know how slamming your clientele works out for you.

If you had any clue as to how things work, you'd know that there is no such thing as a partial refund or discount when it comes to purchasing a puppy.

In addition, at no point did the person state that they wanted to get rid of their dog Willow, they just said that they were entitled to a dog that shouldn't have come with so many problems at such a young age.

Good luck in the future, but with your attitude.....

#459923

You are a disgusting human being and people like you should not own pets! As a veterinary student, people like you make me seriously sick.

You want a "replacement puppy"? You should be ashamed. So what, your puppy has bald spots. Does that mean he doesn't deserve a happy life with a good family?

Is it any less lovable because it isn't as cute? How dare you. I hope you do give the dog away so it has a chance to have a decent home with a loving family. I understand your frustrations with the breeder, but if anything you should have asked for a discount or partial refund, not a replacement!

That is a life, not a piece of damaged merchandise. Yuck.

This is why I NEVER buy from a breeder. Shelter pets all the way!

#459080

I'm sorry for your issues with your silver lab. I did some reading on the breed before recently buying our chocolate and found warnings regarding silver lab specific breeders. Being that the AKC only acknowledges yellow, black, and chocolate as being part of the "Breed Standard", there were warnings that any breeder specializing in "Silver" labs, are probably not in the breeding scene for the right reasons.

When a breeder is in the breeding game for profit, they often forego the in depth testing(of the parents)that is crucial for producing a more healthy dog. I've come to learn it is hard to be profitable in the breeding business(if doing it right) because there are many expenses to raise a litter from 0 to 8 weeks.

I would pursue this in small claims court, you might be able to recover your cost for the dog while being able to keep it. I would spread the word on this breeder as well on sites like yelp, yahoo reviews, etc. People often google a breeders name to for reviews before making a decision to buy.

Good luck!

View more comments (10)
ID
#308704 Review #308704 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saginaw, Michigan
Loss
$1000
New Reviewer

Breeders and Rescue

I am so sorry you had such an ordeal with this 'breeder.. notice, unquote.. If you really want to find out about breeders, I suggest that anyone contact the parent Club rescue group, as I am involved in rescue for another breed and we get to know who all the backyard breeders and puppy millers are. These so called breeders and pet stores that sell dogs and cats, ( who buy from puppy mills), depend on you falling in love with the sick animal and you don't have the heart to have it destroyed. The guarantee only covers so much medical care and many of these animals don't show genetic signs of illness until almost a year or two of age. Many of us in rescue started out by buying from a puppy mill or backyard breeder, have gone through similar issues you are going through and we decided to help the rescue group. There is nothing wrong with buying from a reputable breeder, but keep in mind, a knockout website doesn't mean the breeder is good ! Generally if they specialize in several breeds, you can bet they are a puppy miller. There is a site called: www.nopuppymills.com visit it and you can see firsthand what happens there. Again,good luck !!
View full review
3 comments
#491686

There is now a 3rd person who has posted that they have a silver lab from Mr. Wickliffe and it has alopecia as well.

I am wondering how many more people who bought puppies from Mr.

Wickliffe have dogs with alopecia.? The 3rd owner's comment is posted under " Wicks Silver Labs sold me a genetically defective dog" (posted by "Dana".

#434994

I'd like to suggest a product that may help grow back the hair. It is called Vetericyn. It is about $40 for a small bottle. It actually mimicks the body's immune system and fools it into growing back hair.

I've seen it used , but only on small areas and the hair comes back the original or close to its color it was. The product can be bought at most pet supply stores or online. When you have time, research the site and you may want to try it. It has been used on humans as well and appears to be safe in content.

Please keep us posted on your dog's skin. Thanks for the nice comments also !!

#434811

Your comments are right on. You bring up very valid points.

We appreciate your concern. We have a Lab/Golden mixed that we bought for $50 and you couldn't ask for a better dog. I wanted a rescue dog but my husband saw the silver lab online and was really taken (no pun intended). She's a great dog other than the coat issue.

We can only hope that she will maintain the coat that has grown back in. We did note new fur loss on her hind legs today. One day at a time.

It's great all the good works you are doing with the rescue. Keep it up, we need more hard working people like you that give their heart for the good of unwanted animals.

View more comments (2)
ID
#298631 Review #298631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bluffton, South Carolina
New Reviewer

More pictures of fur loss

Update by user Feb 19, 2012

Our pictures don\'t seem to want to load.

Original review posted by user Feb 19, 2012
Here are some additional pictures that did not load on my original complaint. We think it is very important to share the pictures because they speak for themselves. We have tried to include pictures that best show the fur loss and thinning of fur. In the areas where our pup didn't completely lose her fur it was very,very thin. As we said in the previous post, our pup's fur has grown back in. How long her coat will remain "normal" is anybody's guess. Bottom line is that any fur loss that results in bald spots is not normal. Another thought we wanted to share was originally Mr. Wickliffe had said that our pup would be ready to go home with us at 8 weeks, which is the norm. When our pup was 6 weeks old Mr. Wickliffe emailed us and said she was "ready to go at anytime" ? Why the hurry to get rid of her? Maybe because he was afraid she would start losing her fur and wanted to get his money before the fur loss started.?? Obviously he has had unsatisfied customers before us and he has had to find ways to manipulate people to still make is money. In our situation it was two weeks before Christmas and he played on that. Buyer Beware! Stick with the traditional chocolate, black and yellow labs. Stay away from designer dogs.
View full review
ID
#298443 Review #298443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Boston, Michigan
New Reviewer
Wicks Silver Labs sold me a genetically defective dog
We bought a "silver" lab puppy from Wicks Silver Labs (Pat Wickliffe-breeder) in Dec 2011. Five days after having her home she started losing the fur on her face. We had her tested for manage at our local vet, testing was negative for manage ($75) . The fur loss...
View full review
View full review
65 comments
#1246431

We bought a silver lab 3 years ago. Don't waste anymore money on testing.

My puppy too was the only puppy who loses her fur. She had a poor coat when we purchased her from another breeder. She has never had an under coat and from doing a lot of research it Appears she has CDA color dilution alopecia. There really isn't a protocol but to give apple cider vinegar, fish oil, vitamin a and melatonin.

I have been doing this for almost a year and her coat has been great until the shedding season and she is bald again. It is so upsetting! From what I have read, this is prevalent in diluted colors.

Wish I had known. Google color dilution alopecia...good luck!

View more comments
ID
#298218 Review #298218 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Boston, Michigan

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article